David Ebsworth

Dr Ebsworth has served as Non-Executive Chairperson of our board of directors since December 2014.

Dr Ebsworth has significant experience in leadership and management of pharma and biotech companies internationally. Dr Ebsworth currently serves on the boards of Sartorius and Synlab. From 2009 to 2014, Dr Ebsworth served as Chief Executive Officer of Vifor Pharma, based in Zürich, the specialty pharma division of Galenica AG Group, a pharmaceutical wholesaler and retailer, and as a member of Galenica’s Executive Committee. In 2012, Dr Ebsworth was also named as Chief Executive Officer of Galenica and as Chairman of Galenica’s Executive Committee, positions he held until 2014. In his earlier career, Dr Ebsworth worked with Bayer for over 19 years, heading the Canadian, North American and global pharmaceutical business. Dr Ebsworth received a PhD in industrial relations from the University of Surrey.

Christina Ackermann

Ms Ackermann was appointed to the board as a Non-Executive Director in September 2023.

Ms Ackermann brings over 25 years of legal and management experience across the pharmaceutical, device and consumer products industries. Most recently, she served as Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Global President Ophthalmic Pharmaceuticals at Bausch + Lomb Corporation where she was responsible for strategic planning and worldwide commercialization of the pharmaceutical prescription assets across the portfolio as well as global legal affairs. During her tenure as President Ophthalmic Pharmaceuticals several new products were launched globally. Previously, Ms Ackermann was part of the Novartis group of companies for 14 years where she served in multiple leadership roles of increasing responsibility including Global Head, Legal and General Counsel of Alcon and Sandoz. Ms Ackermann currently serves as a Non-Executive Director on the board of Oculis Holding AG. She holds a Post Graduate Diploma in EC Competition Law from King’s College at the University of London, UK, and a LLB from Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada.

James Brady

Mr Brady has served as a Non-Executive Director on our board of directors since March 2022.

Mr Brady has extensive experience in the biopharmaceutical industry, serving in multiple leadership roles of increasing responsibility across the US, Europe and China, during his 30-plus-year career at AstraZeneca. Most recently, Mr Brady served as Chief Financial Officer of MedImmune, the biologics discovery and development division of AstraZeneca. During his tenure at MedImmune, biologics grew to represent more than half of the product development portfolio of AstraZeneca and five biologics were successfully brought to market. Mr Brady currently serves as a Non-Executive Director on the board of Panavance Therapeutics. He is a Certified Public Accountant, holds an MBA from Drexel University and a BS in accounting from St. Joseph University.

Vikas Sinha

Mr Sinha has served as a Non-Executive Director on our board of directors since September 2016.

Mr Sinha has over 20 years of experience working in executive finance roles in the life sciences industry. Mr Sinha is Chief Financial Officer and co-founder of ElevateBio, a holding company focused on building cell and gene therapy companies. He also serves as President and Chief Financial Officer of AlloVir, an ElevateBio portfolio company. In addition, Mr Sinha serves as a member of the board of directors of Allovir. From 2005 to 2016, he was the Chief Financial Officer of Alexion Pharmaceuticals. Prior to joining Alexion, Mr. Sinha held various positions with Bayer across the world including CFO, Bayer North America and CFO Bayer Yakuhin, Japan. Mr Sinha holds an MBA in business administration from the Asian Institute of Management. He is a qualified Chartered Accountant from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and a Certified Public Accountant in the US.